on the road

03Jul09

1. I took 290 home this time. There was a “scenic farm” and a ghost town right out of an old West movie and a peach stand on the side of the road. For comparison’s sake, if you are like me and have to speed or you feel like you’re going too slowly, stick to I-10/71 for the Austin-Houston commute. 290 is prettier and gets you there in the same amount of time but there is hardly anything more frustrating than passing a pick-up truck going 60 in the right lane only to find yourself behind a pick-up truck going 63 in the left lane, thinking that is okay.

this is a long drive for someone with nothing to think about

this is a long drive for someone with nothing to think about

I feel like I am living out of suitcases.

2. If you haven’t been to Kaboom Books yet, check it out and be sure to talk to the folks working there. I was reading Ham on Rye by Charles Bukowski (it is brutal and unfiltered and honest and I’m really enjoying it) at Antidote and decided to stop by the Studewood store asking for more recommendations like it. The guy working there talked to me for twenty minutes about the movements Bukowski influenced and admired and not only recommended authors to me, but prevented me from buying one book by Celine because he said it would be better to start with a different title, not in stock, which he would get for me tomorrow. This is what a used bookstore should be like.

3. My car is totaled due to somebody being wasted at 11 p.m. on a Wednesday and deciding it was a great idea to drive. Anyone selling a car with working A/C and stereo for two thousand bucks? FML.

4. Had a dream that I was swimming in the ocean playing with jellyfish. It was dark. I wanted to touch one that had a big squishy top and long white tentacles. It looked lazy and I pressed my hand into the top. It started to wrap its tentacles around my arm and I moved away but it just grabbed on tighter and pulled me underwater and I woke up terrified.

No Responses Yet to “on the road”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

