last breath of summer

17Sep09

Spent yesterday evening making an apple pie with Isabella. I’d never made an apple pie before and it felt like a very end-of-summer kind of thing to do. I modified a basic recipe I found online and ended up with this, which was simple and tasty and looked exactly like I wanted it to:

apple pie pre-assembly

apple pie pre-assembly

1. Core, peel, and slice 6 apples (I used 4 Granny Smiths and 2 honeycrisps, which helped offset the mushiness of Granny Smiths alone).

2. Make a caramel-y syrup for the apples by melting one stick of butter in a saucepan and stirring in 3 tbsp. flour to thicken. Then add 1/2 cup of brown sugar, 1/2 cup of white sugar, and 1/4 cup of water and blend (For the future, I would reduce the amount of sugar – I found myself wanting a tarter pie in the end). Add spices: 1/2 tsp. nutmeg, 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1 tbsp. vanilla (i would probably reduce these the next time as well). Bring to a boil and then simmer for 5 minutes to reduce.

3. Mix the apples with the syrup to coat. I squeezed in half a lemon at this point to cut the sweetness a little.

4. Put the bottom pie crust (I cheated and used pre-made since we don’t have a food processor) in a round pie dish and brush with milk to keep it from getting soggy. Dump the apples in and slice the other pie crust up to make a lattice on top. Isabella had to help me with this. I didn’t realize you actually had to weave it. It was definitely worth how pretty it looked, though. I forgot to do this, but you should also brush the lattice with a little milk or egg white to make it brown faster.

raw apple pie

raw apple pie

5. Bake for 15 minutes at 425F and then 40-50 minutes at 350F, or until the filling is bubbly and the top crust looks nice and golden brown. Wait for it to cool a little before eating. We had it with vanilla bean ice cream on top and it was exactly what I wanted from an apple pie.

bubbly and delicious

bubbly and delicious

I took some before-and-after pictures, but unfortunately my computer has killed itself and I’ll have to wait to upload them.

//EDIT: new computer, pictures now working!//

We also spent some time exploring the backyard and ended up making a fire pit with some cinderblocks stolen from the neighbors’ yard. Fall is coming. I can’t wait to fix up the backyard more. It will be a great place to hang out.

For the upcoming week, I want to make:

1. Gazpacho, before it’s truly fall

2. Yellow curry – send me a good recipe if you have one!

3. This canvas thing with some Christmas lights I bought last week

In lieu of my own pictures, for now, I’ll forward you to Layne’s tumblr, which is filled with adorable and wonderful things.

No Responses Yet to “last breath of summer”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

