swine flu’d

07Oct09

Accidentally got swine flu and had serious malaise (an actual symptom, promise!) for a few days there. So my plans to actually make food that wasn’t pasta and sauce from a jar were somewhat foiled. However: I do have a few new things.

1. We got a tiny tiny kitten! Her name is Morris and she looks like this:

mo money mo problems

mo' money mo' problems

2. I made snickerdoodles from a Nigella Lawson recipe. I wanted them to be big and chewy but they were small and more like tea-cakes. Still tasty though:

snickerdoodles, sort of

snickerdoodles, sort of

3. The latest in the series of dinners-that-are-easy-for-a-poor-college-student-to-make: Dijon chicken. I’ve been buying these 4-lb. bags of frozen boneless, skinless chicken breasts at HEB. I just take one out in the morning, put it in a plastic bag in the fridge to defrost, and by night it’s thawed and can be cooked pretty much any way. Chicken breasts are nice because they taste like something other than pasta sauce. Plus, Joy of Cooking has a bunch of simple, reliable chicken recipes.

Anyway, tonight I just smeared the defrosted chicken all over with Dijon honey mustard and then coated it in a mixture of a handful of bread crumbs, about 1 1/2 tbsp. melted butter, half a clove of garlic, salt and pepper. Then I baked it for 45 minutes at 350F. It was actually pretty delicious. I probably should have flipped it over halfway through so the coating would stick on both sides, but I was fine with it not looking perfect:

Dijon mustard chicken

Dijon mustard chicken bite

4. Busybusy finishing my costume for Layne’s Marie Antoinette-themed birthday party on Saturday. I hope it will feel like this.

No Responses Yet to “swine flu’d”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

